• User Name
  • Password
  • Remember Me
05 Oct 2022, 15:33 HRS IST
  • PTI
Nobel Prize for chemistry awarded to three scientists for "snapping molecules together" to create materials, reports AP.
  • Parliament's Monsoon session likely to end on Wednesday

  • Advertisement
  •  Share
  • Print Print
  •  E-mail
  • Comments Comment
  • [ - ] Text [ + ]
19:13 HRS IST

(Eds: Updating)

New Delhi, Sep 22 (PTI)
The Monsoon Session of Parliament is likely to conclude on Wednesday, eight days before it is scheduled to end, amid concerns of spread of coronavirus among lawmakers, sources said.

Rajya Sabha is likely to adjourn sine die after taking up five bills on Wednesday, the sources said on Tuesday.

The Lok Sabha, Speaker Om Birla said, will meet at 6 pm on Wednesday instead of the usual 3 pm.

Sources said the Lower House will be adjourned after taking up a few matters, including Zero Hour.

The session which began on September 14, witnessed passage of several bills in both Houses, including those which sought to replace ordinances issued recently. The decision to curtail the session has been conveyed to floor leaders of parties in the lower house, the sources said.

The Monsoon Session was otherwise scheduled to end on October 1.

Several MPs, including a few ministers, have tested positive for COVID-19 in the last few days.

On Monday, eight members of Rajya Sabha were suspended over their "unruly behaviour" during the passage of the two key farm bills on Sunday.

A number of opposition parties on Tuesday staged a walkout from Rajya Sabha and decided to boycott proceedings of the House till the suspension of the eight members is revoked, even as the government insisted on their apology.

In Lok Sabha too, various opposition parties, including the Congress and the TMC boycotted the House in solidarity with the suspended Rajya Sabha members.

Congress leader in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury said all opposition parties are boycotting Parliament in solidarity with the suspended Rajya Sabha members.

Opposition parties, including the Congress, the TMC, the BSP and the TRS, walked out of the Lok Sabha after Chowdhury's announcement.

  • Post your comments